Boards & Commissions

The City of Clarksdale operates under a Special Charter and is governed by the Board of Mayor and Commissioners which meets on the second and fourth Monday of each month at 4 p.m.  The Mayor is elected from the City at large while the Commissioners are elected from four separate wards.  The Mayor is in charge of the day to day operation of the City and has direct supervision over each Department Head.

The Board of Mayor and Commissioners is responsible for appointing persons to the following Boards or Commissions:

Carnegie Public Library Board
Clarksdale-Coahoma County Airport Board
Clarksdale-Coahoma County Planning Commission
Clarksdale Municipal Election Commission
Clarksdale Historic Preservation Commission
Clarksdale Housing Authority
Clarksdale Municipal Separate School Board
Clarksdale Park Commission
Clarksdale Public Utilities Commission
Delta Blues Museum Board

The Carnegie Public Library Board

Director: Mary Caradine – Interim
Post Office Box 280
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614

MEETINGS: Third (3rd) Tuesday of the month at 4:30 p.m.


Amanda Crumley  –  Ward 1 
Chris Coleman  –  Ward 2
Joyce Hill  –  Ward 3 
Rita Hanfor  –  Ward 4 
Jacqueline Tyler  –  At Large 


Clarksdale Coahoma County Airport Board

Chairman: David Huggins
Post Office Box 700
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614

MEETINGS: Second (2nd) Monday of the month at 5:30 p.m. at the flight business office at the airport.


Robert Precht  –  Joint Appointment
John McKee  –  At Large
Greg Malatesta  –  Ward 1 
David Huggins  –  Ward 2, Chairman
Lewis Wilkins  –  Ward 3 
Charles Reid  –  Ward 4 


Clarksdale Coahoma County Planning Commission

Created: 6-3-1949

To be placed on the agenda for the Planning Commission Contact:
The City Clerk’s Office
Post Office Box 940
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614

MEETINGS: Second (2nd) Tuesday of the month at 3:00 p.m. in council chambers at City Hall


Orrden Williams  –  At Large 
Kinchen O’Keefe  –  At Large
VACANT –  At Large
Harley Kittle  –  Ward 1
Laurie Webb Bullock  –  Ward 2, Chairman
Rev LC Tyler, II  –  Ward 3
S. L. Blackburn  –  Ward 4

City Employee Advisor: Melvin Miller, II


Clarksdale Municipal Election Commission

MEETINGS: On call at election time


Rivers Humber  –  At Large
Sanford Johnson  –  At Large
Anne Clark  –  At Large

Clarksdale Housing Authority Board

Director: Benita Howard
Post Office Box 908
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614

MEETINGS: Quarterly on the Third (3rd) Wednesday of January, April, July, and October at 2:00 p.m. at Clarksdale Housing Authority, 2401 Sixth Street, Building 9.


Kerry Lee  –  At Large 
Wayne Winter  –  Ward 2,  (
Roosevelt Howard  –  Ward 1  (
Willie Pole  —  Ward 3 
George Fields –  Ward 4 

 Clarksdale Municipal Separate School Board

Dr. Joe Nelson, Superintendent
Post Office Box 1088
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614

MEETINGS: Third (3rd) Thursday of the month at 5:00 p.m. at Thomas E. Shaw School, 135 Washington Street.

CITY APPOINTEES: Appointed for five (5) year term

Bishop Zedric Clayton  –  At Large
Sandy Stillions  –  Ward 1 
Joan Morris  –  Ward 2
Dr. Manika Kemp  –  Ward 3 
LaFiesta Roland  –  Ward 4  (

Clarksdale Public Utilities Commission

Created: 7-20-1989

416 Third Street
Post Office Box 70
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614

MEETINGS: Second (2nd) Tuesday of the month at 4:15 p.m.

CITY APPOINTEES: Appointed for five (5) year term

Shirley Hicks  –  At Large
George Miller  –  Ward 1
Jimmy Humber  –  Ward 2 
Adrian Allen  –  Ward 3                                                                                                                               Don Mitchell  –  Ward 4  

Delta Blues Museum Board

Created: 1-30-1979 with the Public Library

Separate City Entity: 4-19-1999

Director: Shelley Ritter
1 Blues Alley
Post Office Box 459
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614

MEETINGS: Second (2nd) Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m.


Mary Williams  –  At Large  
Dr. William Booker  –  Ward 1 
VACANT  –  Ward 2, 
Ralph Simpson  –  Ward 3   
Lera Kinnard  –  Ward 4   

Clarksdale Park Commission

MEETINGS: Second (2nd) Monday of the month.


Curtis Kemp  –  At Large  
Joel Litton  –  Ward 1  (
Barbara Morris  –  Ward 2  
Desi Monix –  Ward 3  
Birley Gipson, Jr.  –  Ward 4